Minnesota recently passed a bill allowing employees to use personal sick leave days to provide care for a parent, grandparent, spouse, sibling or adult child. The law previously allowed employees to use sick leave only for themselves or to care for dependent minor children.
The bill also stipulates that employers may limit the use of personal sick leave benefits provided by the employer for absences due to caregiving to no less than 160 hours in any 12-month period. Only companies who offer employ more than 21 individuals are affected by the law.
Though it does not mandate that employers must offer sick leave to their employees, the law is a welcome sight for many Minnesotans. A recent report found that 4 in 10 US adults provide unpaid care for a loved one, including 44 percent of those in the Baby Boomer generation.
View the full bill.
Story reprinted from the Assisted Living Federation of America (ALFA).